The Nasson College Alumni Association awards two scholarships per year each according to distinct criteria:

  • To a Nasson College descendant (of alumni, faculty, staff, student or member) based strictly on secondary school academic achievement as of February 1 of the current year. On behalf of the applicant, an academic transcript bearing that school's official seal should be mailed directly from the sending school to: NCAA, PO Box 416, Springvale, ME 04083 by March 31. The award is announced to the sending school prior to Commencement exercises and expended the following spring semester.
  • To a deserving student enrolled in the Sanford Regional Technical Center System (includes 6 southern Maine high schools) based on secondary school accomplishments in the technical field, seriousness of purpose, and academic promise. The recipient of this award is chosen by the Technical Center staff prior to Commencement exercises. The award is expended the following spring semester.

Each 2017 scholarship is valued at $1,000.

Congratulations to Past Recipients


  • 2001 Scholarship Recipient: Amanda E. Golob


    Amanda Elizabeth Golub, graduate of River Ridge High School, New Port Richey, Florida. Daughter of Marjorie MacKellar Golub, class of 1968, and Dr. Burton Golub, class of 1969. Attending the University of Richmond, Richmond Virginia.

  • 2002 Scholarship Recipient: Katherine Lynn Plocharczyk


    Katherine Lynn Plocharczyk, graduate of Kennebunk High School, Kennebunk, Maine. Daughter of David Plocharczyk, class of 1976. Attending Susquehanna University, Selingsgrove, Pennsylvania.

  • 2002 Scholarship Recipient: Kristi Jean Cochin


    Kristi Jean Cochin, graduate of Sanford High School, Sanford, Maine. Daughter of John Cochin, class of 1960. Attending the University of Maine at Farmington, Farmington, Maine.

  • 2003 Scholarship Recipient: Matthew O'Brien


    Matthew O'Brien, graduate of Deering High School, Portland, Maine. Son of Eugenia Norris O'Brien, class of 1977. Attending Roger Williams University, Bristol, Rhode Island.

  • 2004 Scholarship Recipient: Tessa H. Olson


    Tessa H. Olson, graduate of Geneva High School, Geneva, New York. Daughter of Valerie Voigt Olson, class of 1974 and Brian Olson, class of 1975. Attending Hamilton College, Clinton, New York.

  • 2005 Scholarship Recipient: Emily K. Sylvain


    Emily K. Sylvain, graduate of Sanford High School, Sanford Maine and a junior at Providence College, Providence, Rhode Island. Grandniece of Lucille Boivin Kelley, class of 1958.

  • 2005 Scholarship Recipient: Andrew S. Thibodeau


    Andrew S. Thibodeau, graduate of Winnisquam Regional High School, Tilton,New Hampshire and a senior at Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts. Son of Wanda Margeson, class of 1972.

  • 2006 Scholarship Recipient: Jennifer Ann Roberge


    Jennifer Ann Roberge, graduate of Catherine McAuley High School in Portland, Maine. Daughter of Susan Denyer Roberge, class of 1980. Attending Daniel Webster College in Nashua, New Hampshire.

  • 2007 Scholarship Recipient: Eliza Tibbits


    Eliza Tibbits, graduate of Old Town High School, Old Town, Maine. Daughter of James Tibbits, '81 and Jennifer Bovie, '82. Granddaughter of Dr. Verne Bovie.

  • 2007 Scholarship Recipient: Jenna McCarthy


    Jenna McCarthy, graduate of Maine Central Institute in Pittsfield, Maine. Granddaughter of Richard McCarthy, '60 and Judy McCarthy, '59.

  • 2008 Scholarship Recipient: Kathryn H. Evans


    Kathryn H. Evans, graduate of Sauquoit Valley Central School in Sauquoit, New York. She is the daughter of Mark S. Evans, '83.

  • 2008 Scholarship Recipient: Devin T. Worster


    Devin T. Worster is a graduate of Berwick Academy in South Berwick, Maine and currently a sophomore at Harvard University. Devin is the grandson of Jean Westcott Worster, '46.

  • 2009 Scholarship Recipient: Michael Stanley


    Michael Stanley is the son of Richard and Susan Stanley of Springvale. He has participated in many school and community activities while maintaining excellent grades. He will attend Harvard University in Boston and plans to major in neurobiology.

  • 2009 Scholarship Recipient: Sarah Hoag


    Sarah Hoag is the daugher of Michael and Tina Hoag of Alfred. She has participated in the Portland Youth Symphony Orchestra for nine years as well as in college courses at York County Community College and The University of Southern Maine. Sarah plans to attend Ithaca College School of Music in Ithaca, New York to study violin performance.

  • 2010 Scholarship Recipient: Jennifer Livington


    Jennifer Livington is the daughter of Bruce and Joanne Livingston. She is graduating third in her class this year at Sanford High School. She plans to major in biology at The University of New England.

  • 2010 Scholarship Recipient: Channa Snyder


    Channa Snyder is currently a Junior at the University of Rhode Island majoring in Ocean Engineering. Her Grandmother is Thelma Sporn Goldberg, Class of 1949. Channa graduated from Hillcrest High School in Ammon, Idaho in 2007.

  • 2011 Scholarship Recipient: Kathryn Evans


    Kathryn Evans, a senior at Williams College in Williamstown, MA, plans to pursue a law degree after graduation from Williams College. Kathryn received the Nasson Alumni Scholarship in 2008. She is the daughter of Mark Evans, class of 1983 of Sauquoit, NY.

  • 2011 Scholarship Recipient: Virginia Murphy


    Virginia Murphy recently graduated from Plymouth South High School in Plymouth, MA. Virginia's grandparents, E. Allan Walker and Priscilla Standish Walker, were members of the classes of 1964 and 1961. She will pursue a degree at the College of Nursing at Michigan State University.

  • 2012 Scholarship Recipient: Heather Seeley


    Heather Seeley recently graduated from Phillips-Exeter Academy. Her dad, B. Craig Seeley, was a member of the class of 1975. Heather will enter Duke University this fall, majoring in Environmental Science.

  • 2013 Scholarship Recipient: Keaton Stoner


    Keaton Stoner, a recent graduate of Dover-Sherborn High School in Dover, MA is the son of Richard Stoner, class of 1980, of Sherborn, MA. Keaton plans to attend Duke University in Durham, NC and will enroll in The Global Health Program.

  • 2014 Scholarship Recipient: Alyssa Dixon


    Alyssa Dixon, a 2014 graduate of Sanford (Maine) High School, has been accepted as a Nursing major at the University of Southern Maine.

  • 2015 Scholarship Recipient: Looey Teung


    Looey Teung, a recent graduate of Sanford (Maine) High School, will be studying Computer Network Systems at The University of Maine at Orono.

  • 2016 Scholarship Recipient: Rowan Fitzgerald


    Rowan Fitzgerald, a graduate of Sanford (Maine) High School, will be studying New Media at York County Community College and the University of Southern Maine.

  • 2016 Scholarship Recipient: Colin Joseph Gallo Seeley


    Colin Joseph Gallo Seeley graduated from St. George's School in Brentwood, Rhode Island. He is the son of Elyse Gallo and alumnus R. Craig Seeley. After taking a gap year, he will pursue a Bachelor's degree in Science and Engineering.

  • 2017 Scholarship Recipient: Katie Gould


    Katie Gould, a graduate of Sanford High School, is majoring in Marketing Communications at Husson University in Bangor, Maine. She is honored to have been chosen and will work hard in the continuation of her education.

  • 2017 Scholarship Recipient: MacKenzie Russ


    MacKenzie Russ is a graduate of Sayville High School in W. Sayville, NY. He will be attending St. Lawrence University and have a double-major of Chemistry/Psychology.